Rejoice! I’m Dead! (album commentary with Steve Davis)

Steve Davis sits down with Gong frontman Kavus, bassist Dave Sturt, their new album “Rejoice! I’m Dead!” on vinyl and a few beers for a full album commentary
Stream the album –
Order a physical copy –

Tracklist and start times:
00:16 – The Thing That Should Be
03:38 – Rejoice!
14:00 – Kapital
17:15 – Model Village
24:07 – Beatrix
26:57 – Visions
30:54 – The Unspeakable Stands Revealed
42:51 – Through Restless Seas I Come
49:42 – Insert Yr Own Prophecy

Davis, the unofficial psychedelic expert and radio presenter alongside Kavus on the Interesting Alternative Show, certainly knows his Gong references and so makes the perfect companion to critique each new song and discuss what makes a Gong album unique.

A few beers in, the trio cover contributions from “Hillage the Spillage” and Daevid Allen from beyond the grave, and the individual band roles that came together to create a “banging”, magical release worthy of a similar sit down and listen.

Filmed by George Laycock of Blacktide Phonic/Visual

Gong have also announced a headline tour of the UK in November, in support of Rejoice! I’m Dead! throughout the UK (and one gig in Norway) For tickets, head to
Nov 20 – Lewes
Nov 21 – Cardiff
Nov 22 – Leicester
Nov 23 – London
Nov 24 – Manchester
Nov 25 – Allendale
Nov 26 – Glasgow
Nov 27 – York
Mar 10 – Oslo
Mar 17 – Pwllheli

Rejoice! I’m Dead! is classified as the band’s 28th album and the Gong legacy is the strongest it has been since 1974. Every member was key in the development of each new song – Kavus Torabi (vocals/guitar), formerly of Cardiacs, who joined Gong in 2014 in time for the last album unaware of the direction his new gig as a guitar player would take, Fabio Golfetti (guitar/vocals), Dave Sturt (bass/vocals), Ian East (sax/flute) and Cheb Nettles (drums/vocals) take on the mantle of steering the Teapot further into outer space and the inner ear. The voice of Daevid Allen features on 2 songs – “Model Village” and “Beatrix”, and the album also features guests – Steve Hillage playing a guitar solo on “Rejoice!” and Didier Malherbe’s duduk can be heard on “Model Village” and “Through Restless Seas I Come”.